In the Captains Update I referred to the penalty for taking relief from an abnormal course condition in a bunker, e.g. temporary water. I said the penalty is two strokes. In fact the correct option will cost you just one stroke.
If you drop "in line" the penalty is 1 stroke not two. "In line" means taking the ball back in a straight line from the tee through where your ball was in the abnormal condition and dropping it within one club's length of that line and not nearer the pin. You can take the ball back as far as you like.
If you drop and play the ball anywhere else e.g. beside or behind the bunker not "in line" you have played from a "wrong place" and the penalty is two strokes if there is no significant advantage. If there is a significant advantage you will be disqualified unless you correct this error and you will still have a 2 stroke penalty! (See Rule 14.7 for playing from a wrong place and Rule 16.1 for the correct relief from an abnormal course condition in a bunker.)
These options and penalties apply if there is no area for relief within the bunker where you can take free relief not nearer the hole or unless the bunker is marked as GUR in which case you can drop at the nearest point of relief outside the bunker or at a stake or in an area specified by a Local Rule.
Because it often comes up, I have included below the Rule relating to taking relief from an unplayable lie in a bunker. Remember you are the sole judge of whether a ball is "unplayable".
See Rule relating to unplayable ball in a bunker and another excellent diagram.